Honour to Valiant Freedom Fighter of Liberation War

June 21, 2018
Awards and decorations of the Bangladesh War of Independence were decorations which were bestowed by the government of Bangladesh through official Gazette of December 1973 along with the official list of sector commanders.

A total of 677 participants of the Bangladesh War of Independence received gallantry awards for their service and bravery. Four categories of gallantry awards were created after the war in Bangladesh. These were:

The Bir Sreshtho (Bengaliবীরশ্রেষ্ঠ) (Valiant of Courage), is the highest military award of Bangladesh. It was awarded to seven freedom fighters who showed utmost bravery and died in action for their nation. They are considered martyrs.[1]

Recipients All the recipients of this award were killed in action during the Bangladesh War of Independence in 1971. The award was published by the Bangladesh Gazette on 15 December 1973. It is the highest military award of Bangladesh, similar to the U.S. Medal of Honor or the U.K.’s Victoria Cross. It has only been given in 1973 to seven people. Listed below are the people who have received the Bir Srestho medal. They are all considered ‘Shaheed’ (Martyrs).

  1. Captain Mohiuddin Jahangir   (Army)
  2. Sepoy Hamidur Rahman   (Army)
  3. Sepoy Mostafa Kamal  (Army)
  4. Engineroom Artificer Ruhul Amin   (Navy)
  5. Flight Lieutenant Matiur Rahman   (Air Force)
  6. Lance Naik Munshi Abdur Rouf   (Bangladesh Rifles)
  7. Lance Naik Nur Mohammad Sheikh  (Bangladesh Rifles)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *



error: Content is protected !!